D&D Discussions Forum Index D&D Discussions
A little place to relax and discuss your alternate life...
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Chill Touch Ruling

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    D&D Discussions Forum Index -> DM's RULE!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheDM
Ranger


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 1:10 am    Post subject: Chill Touch Ruling Reply with quote

Jared,

This one only really affects you. After our discussion, here's how I am ruling. I added in brackets below what I think clarifies the point. There are two things that clarigy the point. 1) Instantaneous duration 2) (and probably more importantly) If the spell can affect the same creature mulitple times.

If the spell is instantaneous then you're done with the one attack. If it's a non istantaneous spell then you can stack the attack damage. I don't have an example of such a spell, but that would be the first distinction.

Although you might think Chill Touch is less powerful than Shocking Grasp, after thinking about it I think it is balanced for a 1st level spell in the versatility; undead turning feature and the fact that it can do Strength Damage. Both things that might be handy in different circumstances, but not as appealing to a damage dealing version of a Duskblade.

Here's the modified FAQ answer:

How does the duskblade’s arcane channeling class
feature (Player’s Handbook II, 20) work with spells that
allow multiple touch attacks, such as chill touch?

For a spell that allows you to make multiple touch attacks
against separate creatures (such as chill touch), you only
channel one touch of the spell through your weapon attack,
regardless of the number of touches allowed by the spell.
If the spell’s duration is instantaneous (as chill touch),
[then]its effect is expended by a single weapon attack, even if the spell would normally allow multiple simultaneous touches.

If the [non instantaneous duration] spell allowed you to make multiple simultaneous touch attacks against the same target, treat it as if you had
targeted the enemy struck by your weapon with all the eligible
attacks.

That's the ruling. Probably means you won't take it but that's what I think is a fair way of interpeting the FAQ answer. and that is in line with the Duskblade class. (as we discussed, the Duskblade is not a fighter class for multiple opponents)

Also, in the wording of the FAQ reponse, it implies the second distinction, chill touch should not be allowed on the same creature multiple times. The spell description itself is a bit vague there as well, but I would rule that if it's used normally, then you can touch multiple creatures, but not the same creature repeatedly. Which is what the one time/level part is about in the description... it's trying to get across how many different creatures you can affect with it.... 3rd level = 3 different creatures (if used normally, not through Arcane Channeling). It has to be able to be used on the same creature multiple times for the damage to stack using Arcane Channeling.

Hope that clears it up for you. (If it doesn't, take pity on me and realize that I'm writing this after you left and so it's not my most coherent hour Rolling Eyes )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zanther
Moderator


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boy I am glad I left when I did and no stick around for the post game chit chat. I had a hard enough time getting up when I did. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theylan
Ranger


Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 4:18 pm    Post subject: WOTC (duh) Reply with quote

after I thought about it I came to the same conclusion its power is not in dealing damage but in turning away undead. oh and yes it can do a little damage. I think once my brain cleared I was fine with it as it is albeit the text is a little confusing which makes one think that it is supposed to be more than its face value but that is WOTC for you. It's just a spell for a different purpose.

I'm fine with it. as it reads (understood) and as it applies to the duskblade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
TheDM
Ranger


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 4:51 pm    Post subject: WOTC Beef Reply with quote

It's one of my biggest beefs with WOTC... Obscure explanation for game mechanics.... then I realized that these guys are writing it that way on purpose so they can continue to have WOTC pay them to explain the rules in freelance articles!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    D&D Discussions Forum Index -> DM's RULE! All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group

Chronicles phpBB2 theme by Jakob Persson (http://www.eddingschronicles.com). Stone textures by Patty Herford.